To Begin With


As I start my adventure into the blogging world, I am faced with two fears. 1. People do not care what I think 2. People will know what is going on inside my head. It is a typical catch-22 situation.

So why have a blog? I am an out-of-work English teacher, or possibly ex-teacher (if you see any grammatical mistakes, perhaps that is why) trying to start my own small business. I have spent the last year with my insane cat, needy dog, interesting husband, and crazy son. It has been amazing, and I am not saying that sarcastically. At the same time, life’s hurdles have thrown me off from time to time. Since writing is therapeutic, perhaps this will keep me sane.

My grandmother likes to give Word Gifts, and these have helped me cope with some of the more challenging obstacles that I have faced. Word Gifts are pieces of advice or adages that help make things more clear. I like to think of it as a way to look at the positives in life. (This is also what my small buisness is somewhat about (slideshows and personalized film) In an imagry-focused society with an attention span of a five-year-old, I want to expand on these word gifts with media. With every Word Gift, I will be posting a picture or video that helps to describe it. My first Word Gift is…. now I’m coming up blank. This is not off to a good start.

One Reply to “To Begin With”

  1. Here’s a word gift, but it requires a context.

    We flash to a suburban Texas household where a mother is baking some wonderful goods for her three children (a five-year-old, a three-year-old, and a baby.) While most children would wait for their mother to do the dirty work of baking the goods and dishing them out, the three-year-old took an unorthodox approach.

    This child’s olfactory bulbs were so infatuated with the sweet smelling goodness that he decided to take matters into his own hands. With his childish innocence, he pulled open the oven door to take a harmless sniff of the happiness within. However, it was so enticing, that he was heard to say, “It smells delicious,” as he delicately placed his chin on the oven door, thus leaving a fine burn mark of curiosity upon his jaw.

    Your word gift…”It smells delicious.”

Leave a Reply

